Dd-17 V0.5.0 (10/10/16)

Discussion in 'Development Dispatches' started by moo1337, Oct 10, 2016.

  1. 2017/12/15 - Decred v1.1.2 released! → Release Notes  → Downloads
  1. Klaian

    Klaian New Member

    Feb 9, 2016
    24
    1
    Male
    Thanks for the runtimes. I got the miner to fire up working. I feel that I need to tweak it out. Under benchmark mode, I was getting better hash than ccminer. Connecting to the pool, it was way below. I was only using basic config. I will play around with it move when I get the time.
     
    Alexoz likes this.
  2. moo1337

    moo1337 Moderator

    Jul 25, 2016
    80
    121
    Male
    Texas
    Really should install the CUDA 7.0 stuff. That'll install all the missing bits.
     
    Alexoz likes this.
  3. root

    root Member

    Feb 3, 2016
    381
    76
    Why not install the latest CUDA 8 dev pack, it is just over 1.4GB and everybody can learn some programming as well.
     
    chappjc likes this.
  4. hacksmash

    hacksmash New Member

    Jul 19, 2016
    2
    0
    Male
    Physical Security Specialist
    Chatsworth Ontario
    I have dropped my firewall and I am still getting this problem :/
     
  5. zero

    zero Full Member

    Jan 1, 2016
    288
    121
    Male
    #25 zero, Oct 13, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2016
    @ay-p @jy-p @moo1337 @davecgh @chappjc

    I have problem running dcrwallet for auto-buying tickets for PoS pool address with v0.5.1.

    I am starting dcrwallet like this:

    dcrwallet --username="dcrwallet_username" --password="dcrwallet_password" --walletpass="public_passphrase" --dcrdusername="dcrd_username" --dcrdpassword="dcrd_password" --enablestakemining --pooladdress=poolfeesaddress --poolfees=5 --ticketaddress=P2SH_Pool_Address --balancetomaintain=0 --ticketmaxprice=28 --ticketbuyfreq=2

    While the ticket price is ~ 27, dcrwallet hasn't made any attempt to buy a ticket even 4 new found blocks after I've unlocked it with no time limit. The exact same setup worked with no problem up to v0.4.0.

    Manually buying tickets works with no problem though:

    dcrctl -u "dcrwallet_username" -P "dcrwallet_password" --wallet purchaseticket "default" 28 1 ticketaddress 2 pooladdress 5

    Is auto-buying tickets functionality removed from dcrwallet v0.5.x and over? I know there is dcrticketbuyer but auto-buying tickets through dcrwallet is very handy for me. Anyway since manual buying tickets works it's not a big problem for now.

    Does anyone else have the same problem?
     
  6. avirdoz

    avirdoz New Member

    Feb 5, 2016
    14
    2
    Male
    I have the same error. Tried with disabled firewall. I can start Paymetheus only with new database, but i need my old database:)
     
  7. ay-p

    ay-p Full Member
    Developer

    Dec 7, 2015
    148
    106
    Male
    Very strange, I am currently able to autopurchase with no errs. Let me try to also use stakepool options to see if that's related
     
    zero likes this.
  8. jrick

    jrick Member
    Developer

    Jan 4, 2016
    88
    81
    Male
  9. ay-p

    ay-p Full Member
    Developer

    Dec 7, 2015
    148
    106
    Male
    Still working for me with stakepool options.

    So when you switched back to v0.4.0 is worked fine, but v0.5.1 would not purchase tickets? getbalance is showing more than enough to purchase tickets?
     
    zero likes this.
  10. zero

    zero Full Member

    Jan 1, 2016
    288
    121
    Male
    #30 zero, Oct 13, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2016
    Yes of course, I've had enough spendable - unlocked funds to buy more than one ticket + fees (getbalance value).

    Dcrd was completely synced to latest block, dcrwallet get started afterwards with the way I gave in my previous post and then I unlocked dcrwallet with no time limit as always. Then no warning-problem messages like for locked wallet, insufficient funds or exceed some value(ticket value or so) and no transaction messages(for buying tickets) on dcrwallet, it only kept syncing new found blocks.

    Manually buying tickets worked with no problem without restarting the wallet but I've should have better tried to restart it first.

    I've updated directly to v0.5.1 from v.0.4.0, skipping v0.5.0 with dcrinstall-windows-amd64-v0.5.1.exe using Command Prompt (not as administrator).

    Anyway I don't see someone else reporting the same problem, so next time I am going to buy tickets I'll check it out again and if I'll get the same results again and again I'll probably try to recreate wallet from seed after a long time. Right now I have a very low balance, almost all my DCR are on PoS and price is extremely high to investigate it any further.

    Thanks for your tests and quick reply.
     
  11. chappjc

    chappjc Full Member
    Developer Pool Operator (PoS)

    Sarcasm? These are redistributable libraries.
     
  12. moo1337

    moo1337 Moderator

    Jul 25, 2016
    80
    121
    Male
    Texas
    Not at all. CUDA is huge and we decided not digging through every single dll and determining it's legal status. On top of my head, we need 5ish of them.

    Also, one has to install the driver and what have you for stuff to work. So the idea is to just use the NVIDIA installer and our stuff is an add-on.
     
  13. moo1337

    moo1337 Moderator

    Jul 25, 2016
    80
    121
    Male
    Texas
    The underlying lib currently only goes up to 7 on windows. We have plans to update to the latest version in the future.
     
  14. chappjc

    chappjc Full Member
    Developer Pool Operator (PoS)

    #34 chappjc, Oct 14, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2016
    You must package it, as the driver does not include it. Or statically link as I suggested.

    You only need the runtime, unless you are explicitly linking with the fft or rand library, for example. It IS redistributable.

    http://docs.nvidia.com/cuda/eula/index.html#attachment-a
     
  15. root

    root Member

    Feb 3, 2016
    381
    76
    Or the driver API is available for the brave ones.
     
  16. Reynold

    Reynold Member

    Jan 28, 2016
    198
    70
    Male
    Programmer
    So is the new database only for the Paymetheus? I was able to overwrite binaries fine a week or so ago and didn't have to re-create from seed, or it did it so quickly that I didn't notice.

    Thanks for all the hard work devs! :)
     
  17. root

    root Member

    Feb 3, 2016
    381
    76
    I can confirm 40 minutes full sync of the new database and client v0.5.1, linux x64, i5 CPU, ssd. I always have older client running so no downtime.
    No strange errors in the log file.
    Wow ! Thanks for this great update !
     
    chappjc and Alexoz like this.
  18. Ayush

    Ayush Full Member
    Advocate (Facebook)

    Jan 9, 2016
    512
    100
    Male
    .
    .
    Wow!! Awesome update. 300-500blocks in 10 secs is pretty awesome. Previously I could get only 25-30 blocks in that much time. Great work devs!!
    I am pretty confident decred will recover :)
     
    chappjc likes this.
  19. Klaian

    Klaian New Member

    Feb 9, 2016
    24
    1
    Male
    First time setting up Paymetheus here. I want to reseed my wallet. How do I do that within the UI? After I logged into dcrd, it is trying to create a new wallet.
     
  20. Ayush

    Ayush Full Member
    Advocate (Facebook)

    Jan 9, 2016
    512
    100
    Male
    .
    .
    U get option to enter seed once u start with wallet creation
     

Share This Page