Dd-4: V0.0.8 (03/18/16)

Discussion in 'Development Dispatches' started by tacotime, Mar 18, 2016.

  1. 2017/12/15 - Decred v1.1.2 released! → Release Notes  → Downloads
  1. zero

    zero Full Member

    Jan 1, 2016
    288
    121
    Male
    @ceejep I recalculate all incomes into my wallet and I am quite sure that dcrctl --wallet getbalance * 0 all returns quite more than these earnings.

    So still I can't get a correct return of all incomes from my dcrwallet. Anyway I am going to manually keep track of my incomes from now on.
     
    Tivra likes this.
  2. Noah

    Noah Member
    Advocate (Twitter)

    Feb 1, 2016
    154
    97
    Male
    Amsterdam
    #42 Noah, Mar 20, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2016
    That's a good thing, right? Perhaps someone has donated some DCR to you! ;)

    With --wallet listtransactions you can review every transaction. It's quite chaotic, but it may help you to keep track of you balance. The difference could also be caused by the constant change in fees. Anyways, as long as you are earning DCR, why bother?

    EDIT: it seems that --wallet listtransactions only displays the transactions made in the current version of your dcrwallet. I think it should be possible to retrieve previous transactions, but we'll need expert advise for that.
     
    Tivra likes this.
  3. Ayush

    Ayush Full Member
    Advocate (Facebook)

    Jan 9, 2016
    512
    100
    Male
    .
    .

    Tried it,
    Get stake info says 0 tickets while I have like 14 tickets live.
    getbalance "default" all says balance as 86 dcr while balance should be around 290 dcr. Is there any other account in the wallet where dcr might be stored?
    Tickets are being purchased succesfully, thats great. But what about my balance. How to fix the uncorrect balance issue. And how can I see data regarding my previous tickets?

    I guess the incorrect balance is because the coins I used for the tickets are not added.So What to do?
     
    Tivra likes this.
  4. Reynold

    Reynold Member

    Jan 28, 2016
    198
    70
    Male
    Programmer
    @Ayush, I had the exact same problem. See my post how I got this fixed.
     
    Tivra likes this.
  5. Ayush

    Ayush Full Member
    Advocate (Facebook)

    Jan 9, 2016
    512
    100
    Male
    .
    .
    • I ran the consolidate command
    • Then I enabled staking
    • My spendable showed now as 0
    • Then my wallet started immediately purchasing tickets.
      didnt understand this part.
      Here is what I did- I started dcrd. Let it load till current block. then created wallet imported seed.
      Then I tried the dcrctl command for buying tickets and saw it completed successfully.
      So what else to do, please explain a bit properly.
    Whats the consolidating command?
     
    Tivra likes this.
  6. Ayush

    Ayush Full Member
    Advocate (Facebook)

    Jan 9, 2016
    512
    100
    Male
    .
    .
    There is another problem @ceejep Previously I told that I successfully bought a ticket, The problem now is that the getstakeinfo command again shows tickets as 0. while my balance has reduced as per ticket price.
    What should be done? Bug in v0.0.8 again?
     
    Tivra likes this.
  7. tacotime

    tacotime Hero Member

    Dec 7, 2015
    410
    1,133
    Try:
    Code:
    dcrctl --wallet getbalance '*' 0 'all'
    If you're purchasing tickets at the stake pool, you will need to:
    Code:
    dcrctl --wallet importscript [hex]
     
    Tivra likes this.
  8. Tivra

    Tivra Member
    Advocate (BitcoinTalk)

    Dec 30, 2015
    120
    60
    Europe
    I followed this as _ingsoc advised on the bitcointalk forum, here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1290358.msg14266634#msg14266634

    Restore your wallet from seed in v0.0.8 (make a backup first). You may need to run the consolidate command:​

    But after my wallet has been seed-restored in 0.0.8 the command getbalance default 0 all only shows 60% of the coins it showed before
    Is this a normal situation?

    (I haven't ran consolidate yet)

    (could it be because I was solo stake mining before restoring wallet ? )
     
  9. tacotime

    tacotime Hero Member

    Dec 7, 2015
    410
    1,133
    Have you tried:
    Code:
    dcrctl --wallet getbalance '*' 0 'all'
     
    Tivra likes this.
  10. Tivra

    Tivra Member
    Advocate (BitcoinTalk)

    Dec 30, 2015
    120
    60
    Europe
    #50 Tivra, Mar 21, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2016
    Yes, except with " " signs otherwise it doesn't work:

    Code:
    dcrctl --wallet getbalance "*" 0 "all"
    (I guess it's a Linux/Win difference)

    unfortunately it only shows 65% of what the same command showed before I did the seed restore to 0.0.8
    well I remember in the past, it was the same, sometimes the global balance would show a lower number and then it would suddenly jump to a higher one but now it's kind of stuck at that number and I'm a little worried

    Edit: getstakeinfo doesn't show my full history of all the votes... it is as if it "forgot" 90% of the votes I got, it's only showing a tiny fraction of the votes got confirmed.... it's as if the stake info is not "synced"... so I all the vote rewards I received while stake voting are missing
     
  11. tacotime

    tacotime Hero Member

    Dec 7, 2015
    410
    1,133
    I'm not sure if anyone else has insight into this issue, but is it possible to manually go through your transactions and account for them that way (depending on the number of transactions)? Is there a possibility it was displayed incorrectly prior to the v0.0.8 reseed of your wallet?
     
    Tivra likes this.
  12. Tivra

    Tivra Member
    Advocate (BitcoinTalk)

    Dec 30, 2015
    120
    60
    Europe
    #52 Tivra, Mar 21, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2016
    I think the mistake was I ran dcrwallet before dcrd was totally finished syncing ... stupid mistake... I'm trying the whole process again now, this time doing it properly...

    EDIT: yes, that was the problem... I ran dcrwallet ..create before dcrd was completely finished syncing... problem solved!
     
    zero, tacotime and Reynold like this.
  13. Reynold

    Reynold Member

    Jan 28, 2016
    198
    70
    Male
    Programmer
    @ceejep explained to me that the consolidate command takes all your tiny transactions and combines them into one. Here is the post.

    Here is the command I used:
    Code:
    dcrctl -u YourUserName -P YourPassword --wallet consolidate 99999 default
    
    After I ran this command, my wallet had enough coins to buy several tickets immediately. Hard to believe I had like ~72 DCR's worth of "dust".

    My balance turned to 0 for a while until the wallet caught up with the network, but it did start spending the coins and finally showed the correct balance.
     
    zero and chappjc like this.
  14. Reynold

    Reynold Member

    Jan 28, 2016
    198
    70
    Male
    Programmer
    Yes, that's why I said it is VERY IMPORTANT to let the dcrd sync completely before starting the wallet. I had to learn this the hard way, but the 4th time it worked and I saw my balance.

    I did however run the consolidate before I tried to do any staking again.
     
    Tivra and zero like this.
  15. David

    David Sr. Member

    Jan 22, 2016
    364
    207
    Male
    USA
    #55 David, Mar 21, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2016
    Hey guys,

    I haven't seen this mentioned yet, so I will share my experience. Starting yesterday (post v0.0.8 release), I was working on setting up a new VM on a remote machine for an additional PoS redundant voting node in case my main node went down. I started dcrd and imported my seed shortly thereafter. The resulting wallet showed a zero balance and no tickets, although this wallet had a few tickets and a few spendable coins on the main instance on my primary machine. I was also suspect of creating the wallet prior to dcrd not having all the blocks processed, so I deleted this new wallet and let dcrd finish its job.

    I recreated the wallet from the seed and it scanned through all the blocks up to the current block. When this was done, it STILL was showing zero tickets and a zero balance. I then compared the output of
    Code:
    dcrctl --wallet getaddressesbyaccount default
    from the main machine and the redundant VM. The VM was short about 20 addresses.

    What seemingly fixed this issue was closing the wallet and relaunching it with:
    Code:
    dcrwallet --automaticrepair
    This relaunched the wallet with an additional address than it previously knew about. I went through a cycle of taking the wallet down and restarting it using --automaticrepair. I believe the issue was fixed after the very first automatic repair, but it was still short 20 or so addresses, so I restarted the wallet using automaticrepair several times until the output (shown below) matched the number of addresses shown on my main machine. If the wallet doesn't know about the addresses used in previous transactions, it's not going to be able to pickup the data from the blockchain when scanning through the blocks.

    [​IMG]


    On another note, I tried to run consolidate on my main machine and received the following error:
    [​IMG]
     
    zero likes this.
  16. Nimrod

    Nimrod New Member

    Mar 4, 2016
    102
    18
    Male
    #56 Nimrod, Mar 22, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2016
    I go the same "-22: TX rejected:" error as above on running the consolidate command.

    However, otherwise everything does appear to be running smoothly.
    My node has been running since v.0.05 and I have only updated the binaries and restarted.
    Tickets buying/voting OK although the "mystery" of where my DCR temporarily disappears on buying, voting etc took at bit of time to figure out. This should be more clearly outlined as a lot of people seem to be complaining of missing DCR while they are just going though the system for 256 blocks (~21h).
     
  17. sambiohazard

    sambiohazard Sr. Member

    Jan 21, 2016
    844
    372
    I have previously asked @ceejep that if it is possible to add a "immature" balance type to getbalance command and add the immature coins to "all" balance type. I think if there is som state coins could be in then there should be a way to track it with wallet. I am clueless why there is no immature balance type in decred. Most other coins show mined blocks (both PoW/PoS) as either "Staked" or "Unconfirmed" but in decred those coins are just invisible to at least user if not wallet.
     
  18. Ayush

    Ayush Full Member
    Advocate (Facebook)

    Jan 9, 2016
    512
    100
    Male
    .
    .
    Oppppoooosssss. My bad, I forgot to importscript. Tickets info is correct now.
    But balance is still wrong.
    The "*" shows balance as 402dcr while I dont think I have any more then 290dcr.
    And "default" shows 49. so does the normal getbalance command.
    How do coins end us in "*" account?


    I tried the command. Now my balance is shown as 0! Let me wait and check.
     
    Reynold and zero like this.
  19. Nimrod

    Nimrod New Member

    Mar 4, 2016
    102
    18
    Male
    Adding the immature coins or a separate immature balance? I guess you could do that. Unfortunately the vote reward is dependent on the block reward which may change after ticket purchase (not to mention voting success). I have a spreadsheet to estimate my "mature", 100% complete voted balance but it will be a bit off due to transaction fees and changes in block reward.
     
  20. chappjc

    chappjc Full Member
    Developer Pool Operator (PoS)

    #60 chappjc, Mar 22, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2016
    Interesting. This suggests that it needs to be a little more "automatic" by being iterative.

    Have you created a new issue for this, or posted on this issue? Because, the issue was just closed after 0.0.8.
     

Share This Page