Stake Pool Full - How Costly Is It For Noob To Be Locked Out First Pool?

Discussion in 'PoS Pools' started by Scott Briggs, Mar 31, 2016.

1. 2017/12/15 - Decred v1.1.2 released! → Release Notes  → Downloads
  1. Scott Briggs

Scott Briggs New Member

Jan 10, 2016
    Male
    Lawyer
    Bay Area, CA
    Reading this very helpful FAQ at https://forum.decred.org/threads/pos-mining-faq.1305/

I came across this:

"3. How much DCR do I get for PoS voting / mining?

Answer - The current PoS reward is 1.853DCR per vote. The reward will change over time. It will slowly get lower and lower......"

[emphasis added by me]

I am a competent beginner. Through very helpful forum posts, I was able to execute both the airdrop and wallet setup successfully. However, with my (very) limited understanding of pc & network security, I feel uncertain attempting Solo POS. (I have the ability to be connected 24/7/365)

How costly is my hesitancy? Am I losing out on the largest DCR voting rewards that will ever exist in Decred history?? Is there a security risk to jumping in with only minimal network security understanding? (I would rather be patient than have my entire balance stolen).

However, I fear I could be needlessly delaying due to paralysis by analysis.

Thank you all in advance for your consideration.

2. adam2312

adam2312 Jr. Member

Jan 11, 2016
    Male
    Hi Scott,
    I think you are missing out on the best returns we will ever see, for several reasons discussed elsewhere in the forum and in your post. As it sounds like you and I are of similar competence, I'd recommend you checkout Rohit's post on setting up a free Amazon web server (AWS) account for PoS mining. I found it pretty much a breeze and am earning 20% return per month, which I expect to drop considerably with time. This compares to ~100% per month for those who were able to get in at the 2 DCR stake price less than a couple months ago.